Music to My Ears

I know I’m not the only one who listens to music while I write.  I can’t be.  I know the Twilight series was written while she listened to Muse.  And why they didn’t have a part in the writing of my story, others did.  So, I thought this would be a good place to list some of the music that made Broken Crown possible.

First up, Imagine Dragons song Radioactive.  I don’t know why.  Leven never deals with radioactivity.  But I absolutely loved the song, and listened to it over and over again.  To the point where I may have had a slight problem.  It was instrumental in me getting the first two chapters completed.

Next isn’t actually a band many people will have ever heard of.  Brand X makes music for movie trailers.  You know that awesome action movie?  They more than likely provided the music you can hear in the background.  And if you look for them on Amazon, you will that they have a ton of tracks.  So which ones did I listen to?  All or Nothing, which you can hear in the Catching Fire trailer and World Without End, which is in the Divergent trailer.  They are great songs because there are no words, so you kind of just get lost in the moment.  I listen to them while I wrote a lot of the action scenes.  It helped me visualize what was going on, helped me find my flow if you will.

And last but not least, my favorite, what I listened to while love was in the air!  With Leven being 16, having her fall in love was inevitable.  I needed something that brought back all those butterflies from my teen years.  Can’t Help Falling Ls made famous by Elvis Presley, and while I like the version, it wasn’t the one I listened to while I wrote the love scenes.  Dan Henig, of youtube fame, has an amazing version.  One I loved so much, that I played his video constantly.  You can see it here https://youtu.be/jOYwjvda0_o

I hope you enjoyed this little trip into my world.  If you have had a chance to read my book, please tell me what you think!

XOXO

Missy Q

Leave a Reply

