My Big News!

No, I am not pregnant.  My big news is that I’ve decided to self publish my debut novel.  Why?  Well, because no agent wants my book.  And since I’ve wasted a year (yes, a full year!) trying to query them, which is whole other headache on it’s own, I don’t want to waste anymore time.

Now, I’m not telling you this to hype up the release of my book, although I do want you to be hyped about it.  I’m telling you because we are about to go on a journey.  The one apparently all self-published authors take.  I’m only a week in and already I’m overwhelmed.  There is so much stuff.

Just google self publishing and see what pops up.  There are thousands of blog posts, books, videos, and even podcasts that tell you the best way to do it.  You should have your own domain, so people take you seriously.  You should have more than one book to publish, so that customers will want to buy more.  You should have a massasive following and throw tons of money at self promotion so your book does well.

I don’t have a massive following.  I think right now my followers on Instagram and Twitter are less 100!!  And as far as money  for self promotion, well I don’t have that either.  I also don’t have another book ready yet for publication.  I have drafts of books, stories that I’ve worked on for a few months, but nothing is finalized yet.  I’ve spent a lot of my time on Broken Crown.  A lot.

I don’t even have my own domain name.  But I am going to try and publish my book.  I am going to try and get the word out there.  I’ll promote it to death to my few followers.  I’ll sell the dam thing in the BAM parking lot if I have to.  Because I love the story.  I love Leven and her crazy, fantastic friends.  And I love my friends, who have read the book, given feedback, and fallen in love with the story.

So, if you’re up to it, why don’t you join me on my journey as I try this whole self-publishing thing out. I assure you I will make the wrong move.  I’m gonna cuss.  And throw a hissy fit.  But I will get this dam book on Amazon.

XOXO

Missy Q

2 thoughts on “My Big News!

  1. Knowing what advice to take is crucial. I found that the best advice comes from those people who have been where you are and succeeded.

    Check out the kboards writer’s cafe. That’s where a lot of them hang out, and they’re pretty good about telling you exactly what they did to get where they are.

    Like

Leave a Reply

